Out Fishing (Picture 1)

It was early, in the morning. I was lying in my bed while listening to the noise of my mother making breakfast downstairs. I got out of the bed, pulled my blue jeans on and a yellow sweater. I walked down the stair. “Good morning” I said, with a sleepy voice. My mom turned her head around where she stood taking milk out oh the refrigerator.  “Good morning dear,  your father went out early for fishing, I have made breakfast, sit down” My father were often out fishing, but not always that early, but today he was, so I ate breakfast with mom. And helped her doing the dish when we were done. “Do you think dad have catched something?” “Hmm , not sure love, it has been quite bad with fish in the sea lately. But don`t worry, we have enough food anyway. Thanks for the help, you can go outside if you want to, it wont be dinner before the evening, so remember to eat if you get hungry.” She gave me a warm smile, before she went out in the garden, probably to see if her flowers needed some water on this hot summer day.

I walked down the little road to the beach. I was going to look after dad. Find out if he had catched something, and maybe ask him if he would go fishing with me later. It was a long time since we had been fishing together. He used to take me with him wen I was younger. But he didn`t do that much anymore. Maybe because I usually was busy with my homework, or hanging out with my friends. He used to go fishing early in the morning, before I woke up. I sat down in the sand. Looked around to see if I could see dad or his boat. The sand were warm, it almost burned under me.

I sat in the warm sand for a while, looking at the clouds, daydreaming. It felt like a long time. Then I recognized my dad`s voice, calling for me. “Lauren! Over here” I turned my head to left, and saw my dad walking against me, few meters away. “Hi dad!” I waved my arm. He didn`t wave back, because he was carrying something with his hands. When he came closer, I could see what he was carrying. “Oh my god! What is that?” I said in surprise. It was a kind of a weird crab, looking a little like a scorpion, a really big one. When I think about it, the crab remind me about one of those seascorpions, that lived here on earth a long time ago, maybe before the dinosaurs did. “What do you think?” My dad said, quite proud of his big catch, about one meter long. I culdn`t help starring at this creature. “I don`t know what to say, it kind of freaks me out”  Dad laughed. ” I don`t know where it came from, it was lying almost berried in the sand, not far from the water.”  I was still starring, but managed to look away for a while and concentrate on talking to dad. “Well, what are you going to do with it?” He showed me a ig smile. “We`re going to eat it of course!” “What? You are kidding, right?”  He was still smiling.    “No.. ”  “Dad! We can`t eat that thing`.. It`s.. It`s, it`s freaking ugly!” I was almost shouting at him. His smile grew even bigger and he started laughing at me. ” Take it easy! Of course we are not going to eat this thing, don`t worry!” I started to laugh too. ” Come on, let`s take it back to the sea, where this, whatever it is, belongs”  We started waking down to the water. “Didn`t you get some fish dad?” “No, not today” “Then, maybe we could go fishing together?” He looked at me, and I could see on his face hat he was glad I asked him. “Of course princess, I would really like to, it`s such a long time since the last time.” This time it was my turn to show a big smile. “Great!”

krabbesak.jpg

4 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Tina said,

    Oh my god..
    I never ment to write so long!!
    Damn, what is wrong with me? xD
    When I first start writing, I think it`s hard to stop 😛

  2. 2

    jonasfolde said,

    I wrote the same lenght as you, so why bother to complain. If i was you and you were me(god forbid) i/you would say i had wrote to short. :p

  3. 3

    Tina said,

    Heheheh x)
    maybe I didn`t write so long after all..
    but I don think it was short 😛

  4. 4

    jonasfolde said,

    yes perhaps, but i usually write a lot more than this 😛 hehehehe


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment